Quiche with oat crust

I don’t know when it was that I discovered I love quiche, but I’m glad I did. It’s such a simple dish, but you’d never guess that with the way it tastes. Quiches are also great ways to clean up those few ingredients you have left in your fridge. You know, that one left over potato from when you wanted to make mashed potatoes, but instead made clumped potatoes?* Yea, use that. Then, all those random ingredients are brought together atop a delicious crust, which might be my favorite part.

However, many traditional recipes of quiche are not the healthiest with vast amounts of cheddar cheese, sausage, and ham in there. All those ingredients are delicious of course, but I think we can do better than that. So when I make quiche I try to add in a lot of greens like spinach, or like I did in this recipe, arugula (cause I had some leftover in the fridge). I also use turkey sausage instead of pork sausage which a much leaner, healthier meat. You can also use a healthier cheese than cheddar cheese, like feta or goat’s cheese…haha just kidding I hate goat’s cheese, don’t use it. It is however, much healthier for you than most cheeses, so if you like it, go for it (Or don’t. I’ll just stay over here…slightly gagging a bit… Ahh I can’t control the little voice telling me to hate on goat’s cheese!). Finally, instead of making a crust that is solely based on wheat, I made a crust in which the majority of it was based on oats. Let me tell you, it actually had way more flavor than a regular crust (in a good way), and it was much easier to deal with. Have you ever tried rolling out a homemade crust?? Ughh it can be so frustrating. With this crust, you just press it into your dish and you’re done!

I got the idea for the crust from Green Kitchen Stories (http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/feta-spinach-pie-with-an-oat-crust/). I followed the recipe for the crust pretty exactly except for the ground almond flour. I used whole wheat flour instead. The filling however I came up with, using my own imagination (http://media.giphy.com/media/rB70UJMvuAZUs/giphy.gif), so please excuse me if the measurements aren’t exact; exact measurements tend to not be my style. I have however guesstimated them for you, the lovely reader.

So technically quiches are supposed to be made in pans like this one http://www.sears.com/fox-run-fox-run-preferred-non-stick-9/p-SPM1959836614?prdNo=4&blockNo=4&blockType=G4 but I don’t have that and I didn’t want to buy one so I just used a pie pan. Surprise surprise, my quiche didn’t turn into a pie! Anyway this is great recipe to make on a Sunday morning for you and your lovies, or just you, and it reheats pretty well! Here is the recipe.

*Note: I’m sure your mashed potatoes turned out great, that line was for comedic purposes only. This is an equal loving blog.


RECIPE FOR QUICHE WITH OAT CRUST

Ingredients

For the crust

Look at the green kitchen stories post…I’m too lazy to rewrite it here. Feel free to use almond flour, or you can do like I did and use whole wheat flour. Either way will be good. Also, I know it doesn’t look like enough, but trust me, it is.

For the filling

4 eggs

1 cup of half and half

1/4-1/2 of a pound of turkey sausage, depending on how much you want

1 cup cheese I used mozzarella, which is a really mild tasting cheese in this dish, so I like it (also because it was what I had). But you can use cheddar, feta, Monterrey jack, Romano, whatever you want. You do you.

2 cups of spinach/arugula/salad greens. You can do a mix or just one! Again, you do you.

1 onion, chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 potato, chopped

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

Salt (about a teaspoon is always a safe measure, but adjust it depending on whether you have a very salty cheese or not)

Pepper

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder plus a pinch for the meat

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

Instructions for Crust

Also on the green kitchen stories link. Just make sure you prebake it for about 10 minutes at 325 degrees Fahrenheit. And don’t worry about rolling out this crust, just kind of press it out into the bottom of your dish.

Instructions for filling

1. Chop the onion and the potato.

2. Put the potato to boil in a pot of water. Or you can steam it. You will know it’s done when you can pinch it between tongs and it mashes. Strain it when it’s done.

2. While the potato is boiling, sautee the onion in a pan until it’s golden around the edges.

3. Add the turkey meat to the same pan. While it is cooking add the cumin, and a pinch of garlic powder, salt, and pepper to it. (you don’t want to over salt it because you will add salt to the eggs. The little pinch is just for flavor purposes). Cook that until it is cooked through. You will no longer see any pink when it is done.

4. Put this mixture into a separate bowl to cool down a bit.

Maybe here you can preheat the oven to 375.

5. Then, in the same pan start adding the greens, bit by bit. They will shrink a lot. You just want to cook them until they’ve wilted. Transfer these to the bowl with the meat or keep them in the pan, just move them off the heat so they don’t cook too much more.

6. Now it’s time to prepare the egg mixture. Crack the eggs into a large bowl and whisk them together.

7. Then add the half and half and whisk that in.

8. Add in the cheese and remaining spices, including the salt and pepper.

9. Add in the rest of the ingredients  you prepared and mix them all together (it will look a little gross at this point).

10. Pour it over your prebaked crust and bake the whole thing at 375 for 35-40 minutes, until it is golden around the edges.

11. Let it cool for a quick minute, cut it up and enjoy!

Final Result

quiche

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ryan Blocker says:

    This absolutely looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Ryan! You should try it sometime an let me know how it goes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

