Roasted Cauliflower

Cauliflower. EWWIES. Did I read your mind? Well I need you, for just a second, to turn that reaction off and give the poor guy a chance. So go ahead, let out all your groans but that’s all the groans I want to hear for this post! Cauliflower is a super healthy, versatile, delicious and fairly priced vegetable that is great for a college student like me trying to get their nutrients in.

My mom used to make a creamy cauliflower when I was younger, and while it had a great flavor I really couldn’t stand the texture so I always “sneakily” passed off the cauliflower to my sister. Because of this, I thought I wouldn’t really like it in other ways. However, when I tried this cauliflower I couldn’t stop eating it. I’m pretty sure I at least ate half a head of cauliflower. It’s yummy and super simple to make so take a chance and try this. You probably won’t be disappointed. And if you don’t love it, I can assure you that you will at least be able to swallow it down for the sake of eating vegetables. But, you’ll probably like it πŸ˜‰


RECIPE FOR ROASTED CAULIFLOWER

Ingredients

1 Head of Cauliflower cut into smaller pieces (should yield about 4 to 6 cups depending on its size)

Salt/Pepper

Garlic Powder

Italian Seasoning

Basil

Oregano

I’ll be honest I didn’t not measure the above seasonings. I just kind of go for it, and you can too! Maybe measure out the salt if you’re staring out on cooking (about a teaspoon is a good rule of thumb) and then taste it! You can eat raw cauliflower no problem and see if you’re seasoning is on point or not and what you need to add more of.

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

Directions

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees F.

1. Chop your cauliflower florets into smaller pieces. You don’t want them to be too big or they won’t get as much flavor, but not too small either because then they’ll burn. So medium size, I’d say (no worries, you’ll see a picture later).

2. Sprinkle your ingredients on the cauliflower and lightly toss it in a bowl so the seasoning gets distributed evenly.

3. Lay the cauliflower out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

4. Bake the cauliflower between 20 and 25 minutes until they are golden and tender.

5. EAT THEM ALL.

Final Products

single cauliflowerΒ roasted cauliflower

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Noran says:

    looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

