Chocolate Orange Cake

You know when someone sends you an email and you look at it and say “ehh I’ll respond later”, and then later never comes, and eventually it’s too late to write back for fear of reminding them that you were the one who forgot to write back in the first place? Well, I didn’t want that to happen with this blog. So, dear readers, I decided to write back because I like you and I like this blog. So (is there a better word for so in this case? I’m not sure, and I’m too lazy to think about it more so I’m keeping it) here I am, writing about cake-a really great thing in our modern day.

This cake I’m going to tell you about is a delicious combination of some of my favorite things: chocolate, orange, and honey, oh my! It is an incredibly dense and moist case so if that isn’t your cup of tea, you might want to skip this one. I, however, love dense cakes. I’m not sure “dense” is the most appealing word but it’s what I could think of and I feel like it describes the cake well. Lets just say in this context, dense means delicious. I’m not a huge fan of the light and fluffy cakes, I just don’t get the hype. I mean yeah, they’re pretty good, but why would you want that when you can have an intense decadent eating experience with a cake like this one? Anyway, personal preferences, I guess. This cake is sweetened with dates and honey which I think is pretty cool. TRY IT. itz good. Basically you should feel like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5bbu6NPRvU but about the cake. So without further ado, the recipe:

Inspired by: http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/classic-chocolate-cake/

CHOCOLATE ORANGE CAKE RECIPE


Ingredients

1 12 ounce box of pitted dates or not, you can pit them yourself if you want. That’s about 1.5 cups of dates

2 cups raw almonds

100 grams of dark chocolate (75% is what I used) roughly chopped

5 eggs (I actually did 6, but I think you can do 5. If it ends up horrible you can blame it on me)

1 orange (you’ll need the juice and the zest. Though to be honest I grated the peel so it would have a stronger orange flavor, depends on your preference. Just don’t get the white part underneath the peel)

1/2 a cup of honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp cacao powder

4 tbsp coconut oil

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350F

1. Pulse the almonds in the food processor until you have an almond flour.

2. Add the dates and pulse them with the almonds until they are mixed together.

3. Transfer this to a mixing bowl. Then, add the rest of the ingredients. If the mixture seems a bit too liquidy you can add a little bit of flour.

4. Pour the mixture into a greased 8 inch springform pan or cake pan and bake it for around 40-50 minutes.

Done! Let it cool some before you take it out of the pan. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

