Kale and Sweet Potato Salad

Today I made a salad that Matt (my boyfriend) actually liked. It was then that I knew I needed to post the recipe on my blog. It was so simple yet so delicious! Sadly, I don’t have a picture of it. I fully intended on taking a picture but then I took one bite and I couldn’t stop eating it. Before I knew it, there was nothing left to take a picture of…Well it is beautiful so just trust me on that.

I try to incorporate some sort of leafy green into my meals as often as I can because I know they’re good for you. However, that doesn’t mean I need to torture myself when eating them. Salads can and often do taste good and different leafy greens when paired with certain foods are amazing! For example, arugula is a star with savory foods, often complementing their flavors just right. When you eat an arugula leaf by itself it can be a bit overwhelming, but if you pair it with almost any savory food, it shines. Spinach, on the other hand, is a more versatile green that can go well with sweet or savory things. That’s why you so often see spinach salads with fruits on them. Kale, surprisingly, to me has a relatively neutral flavor so it also does well with sweet and savory. With this salad I went down the savory road with roasted sweet potatoes and sunflower seeds. However, I’m sure pomegranate seeds would also be great on this salad. Now go count how many times I just said sweet and savory.

KALE AND SWEET POTATO SALAD


Ingredients

1 sweet potato

1 tablespoon or less of olive oil or coconut oil (or both!)

Kosher salt to taste

Black Pepper

Seasonings you want. I did: cumin, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder

However much baby kale you want to be the basis for your salad

A bit of olive oil

Sunflower seeds- roasted seeds are good here

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 400F

1. Wash and peel the sweet potato (alternatively don’t, it won’t really matter)

2. Cut it into cubes

3. Toss it in the oil and seasonings you want to use so they’re all evenly covered

4. Lay them out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake them for around 20 minutes.

5. Cut the kale into small pieces. Do this by bunching up the kale and cutting horizontally to the way the kale bunch is facing.

6. Put the kale in a bowl. Drizzle some olive oil over them (you only need a little here) and massage it into the leaves to make them softer. Season them with a little bit of kosher salt.

7. Add your sweet potatoes and sunflower seeds mix everything together and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

