The Everything Salad (Couscous, sweet potatoes, chickpeas etc…) with a Tahini dressing

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. woops. BUT, I graduated from Vanderbilt University this past May! Finals, that, and figuring out my life has been keeping me busy these past few weeks. HOWEVER, I’ve been home in South Carolina with my family since then and I have had plenty of time to cook. That means exciting new recipes, yay! I have actually been cooking most days for my family. It’s a win win for everyone really, my parents don’t have to cook and I get to play in the kitchen. This salad is something I made one day because I wanted to eat something healthy, but a cold salad just sounded so boring. Warm salads (wow, sounds so appealing) are something I really enjoy. You can still be healthy, but there just seems to be so much more possibility with the flavors than with most cold salads. In this one, I incorporated a lot of my favorite foods-chick peas, sweet potatoes, tomatoes and more in an attempt to create a cohesive yet delicious dish. My inspiration came from Mediterranean cuisine, what was available to me in my pantry that day, and my mom’s garden. Anyway, I do hope you try this salad, I thought it turned out pretty well!

THE EVERYTHING SALAD RECIPE


Ingredients

For salad:

2 sweet potatoes, cut into cubes

2 cans of chickpeas (preferably organic, if you can)

olive oil (around 2 tablespoons for the chickpeas, and just enough to coat the sweet potatoes)

seasoning for both sweet potatoes and chickpeas:

Kosher salt, garlic powder, paprika, black pepper, and cumin (all to taste)

1.5 cup of uncooked couscous

2 tomatoes, diced

1 avocado, diced

1 cucumber, diced

Dill (optional, but gives great flavor)

feta cheese, crumbled on top

Drizzle of olive oil and lemon juice

For dressing:

2 tablespoons Tahini

3 tablespoons Olive oil

2 tablespoons lemon juice

water to thin

cumin to taste

1 tablespoon raw honey

salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preaheat the oven to 425 Degrees Fahrenheit

1. Wash and scrub your sweet potato then cut it into 1 inch cubes.

2. Toss the sweet potato with enough olive oil to coat and then add the spices that you wish to use (about 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of each is probably good). Once ready, place them on a lined baking sheet.

3. Open the cans of chickpeas and rinse them thoroughly. After rinsing, dry them off as well as you can. You want them to be dry so they will get crispier on the outside.

4. Toss the chickpeas with olive oil and spices. Put them on a lined baking sheet.

5. Put both the sweet potato and the chickpeas in the oven. They should take between 20 and 30 minutes (the sweet potato will probably take a bit longer though, just keep an eye on them).

6. While the sweet potatoes and chickpeas are roasting, dice your tomatoes, cucumber, and avocado and chop the dill.

7. With about 5 minutes left for the sweet potatoes and the chickpeas to cook, prepare the couscous (you can follow the package instructions here).

8. Once the sweet potatoes and chickpeas are done, get a big bowl and toss everything together. Drizzle it with some olive oil and lemon juice. Finally, crumble some feta cheese on top as well. Taste it. If it needs more salt or other seasonings feel free to add them in.

9. Make your dressing by mixing all the ingredients together. Use as much water as you need to to thin out your dressing. You can serve this on the side of the salad so each person can put as much of it on as they want.

You are done! Be proud of your delicious and healthy salad!

Look, I have a real camera now that I’m home!

couscous salad edited

Leave a Reply

