Spiced Mango Dessert Smoothie

One day you will have the unique opportunity of having a ripe mango and a ripe banana at the same time and when you do, I would highly recommend that you make this smoothie. Because it was awesome. You know how I know? My fiance who does not like mangos decided he did after drinking this smoothie…whattt?!

I came up with this smoothie because one of my favorite blogs, Green Kitchen Stories (see links) was selling a bundle pack of smoothie recipes. I got kind of grumpy because I didn’t want to spend money on it, so instead I was like “I’ll make my own smoothie recipes and they’ll be delicious AND free *grumble grumble*” (no disrespect intended to GKS, by the random chance they were ever to see this- I love your blog and you guys are great!). So here is one result! More may come in the future but right now, I’m pretty satisfied with this one.

I did call it a dessert smoothie because it is so sweet and really, it should satisfy even the sweetest sweet tooth- just make sure your fruit is ripe. I then decided to add the spices because spice is the spice of life, right?? I’m pretty sure that’s how that saying goes. Anyway, add more of anything you might like. If you want to add more ginger for a more spicy kick, do it or omit it (but I wouldn’t do that). This is also probably the creamiest smoothie ever since both frozen banana and mango lend themselves to being creamy when blended, which I think is a plus.

While this is a dessert smoothie as is, I’m sure you could add in some greek yogurt or nut butter or soaked nuts and some veggies (like carrots to further enhance the color) to make it more filling and balance out the sugars more. However you do it though, have fun with it, pretend you’re a mad scientist or something and give it a try!

SPICED MANGO DESSERT SMOOTHIE


Ingredients

1 ripe banana, cut into slices and frozen

1 ripe mango, peeled and cut into slices

About a 1 inch round of ginger (so about 1 inch wide and 1 cm tall)

A dash of ground turmeric and cardamom

1 cup plant based milk

Directions

  1. Add everything to a blender and blend it until it is all creamy.
spiced mango smoothie edited
Molly the cow wanted some…
Leave a Reply

