The Return of Three Birds One Scone: Fall Edition

img_0941

So, WordPress told me that it’s been a year since my last post. That’s not exactly an accident. A year ago, I had become very disheartened with Three Birds One Scone. I didn’t feel very proud of the images I was putting forth even though I was very happy with and proud of the food I had created. Fast forward to now though! About two weeks ago, I bought my first DSLR camera and I have been reading up on how to use it properly and I feel much prouder of the images I’m capturing now. So, now, I’m giving Three Birds another chance and I’m super pumped about it!

Anyway, moving on to the food. As many of you have been made aware by the changing weather, it’s fall! That means it’s time to make all the pumpkin things. I mean, really, we’re all a little basic on the inside. So today I’m going to tell you what you can do with one can of pumpkin puree. When I open cans, I never like to have leftovers because I forget about them eventually, so today I was determined to use the whole can. That meant not just one, but two yummy fall recipes. These are: pumpkin pancakes and pumpkin granola. The pancakes are fluffy and the granola is deliciously warm and spiced. They both make you feel like cuddling under a blanket with some hot tea. These really are two of my favorite things I’ve made and I’m very excited to share the recipes with you here.

pumpkin-can

PUMPKIN PANCAKES

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice (or a combination of  ground cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom)

1 cup canned pureed pumpkin

1 ¾ cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat a griddle to 300 degrees F (my griddle gets hot really easily so it might be different for you).
  2. Combine the dry ingredients (everything from the flour to the pumpkin pie spice) in a large bowl.
  3. Combine the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl.
  4. Make a small well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Fold them in trying not to over mix them.
  5. Take about 1/4 of cup and pour it on to the griddle. Flip the pancakes when you see the bubbles pop.
  6. Keep warm in 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

PUMPKIN GRANOLA

IMG_0963.JPG IMG_0982.JPG

Ingredients:

4 cups of rolled oats

1 cup of nuts (I did pecans, almonds, and hazelnuts, and sunflower seeds)

1 teaspoon of kosher salt

1.5 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice

1/3 cup coconut oil

Heaping 1/3 cup maple syrup

The rest of the pumpkin puree left over from the pancakes (about 1/3 of a cup and 2 tablespoons)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 340 degrees F.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients (oats, nuts, salt, and spices) in a large bowl.
  3. Melt the coconut oil in the microwave for about 30 seconds.
  4. Combine the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix well.
  6. Spread the granola on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and place in the oven.
  7. Bake for about 40 minutes or until golden brown, mixing one time.
Leave a Reply

