Mini cashew cream cheesecakes

1lblqz

So, I had this great idea to create a gif of the little cheesecakes stacking up and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out…I mean look how cute they are! Anyway, background to this recipe. I had a bunch of cashews in my pantry and I was like hmm what can I make with these? So I remembered this “cheesecake” I made one time with cashews and immediately decided that was what I was going to make. However, when it came time to decide on a flavor, I couldn’t! So that’s where the mini cheesecake idea came in. I made as many flavors as my heart desired and it was great, and you can too! I see so many possibilities for flavors here, so have fun with it. Fair warning, if you’re expecting cheesecake, that’s not really what you’re going to get. That isn’t to say they’re not delicious, but they are different. I just didn’t know what to call them!

Anyway, they start with a date and nut crust and then the filling is a creamy combo of cashews, coconut milk, ripe bananas, and a few other things. There’s no baking required, so if you’re a lazy poop like me, then this a great recipe for you. So go ahead- indulge in your sweet tooth and make these little cheesecakes with minimal effort…they’re not even that bad for you! (Actually, in terms of desserts, they’re pretty good! No refined sugars, lots of healthy nutrients from nuts dates and fruits etc. See, I’d never lead you astray.)

PS- there’s no shame in taking just one bite from a few different ones.

IMG_4513IMG_4519IMG_4536

MINI CASHEW CREAM CHEESECAKES

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of medjool dates (soaked in hot water if not soft)
  • 1 cup of nuts (I used brazil and pecans)
  • 1.25 soaked cashews (for at least four hours, or pour boiling water over them and let them sit for an hour)
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 tablespoon of coconut oil
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • whatever other toppings you want

Instructions:

  1. Place the pitted dates and nuts in a food processor and process until you get a meal-y consistency. You want it to be able to stick together when you squish some between your fingers.
  2. Press this mixture down into the bottom of the muffin tin. This is your crust.
  3. Place the rest of the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. (make sure you drain the cashews before you blend them.)
  4. Divide this evenly into your muffin tins.
  5. Top with whatever toppings you choose. I swirled raspberry jam and peanut butter in some, topped some with strawberries and blueberries, and even shaved chocolate on some.
  6. Freeze for at least 4 hours or overnight. When you’re ready to eat them take them out about 15 min in advance so they thaw a little and are extra creamy.
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_4546IMG_4514IMG_4533

Save

Leave a Reply

