Black Bean Brownies

IMG_5147

Okay, so I know I’m behind the trend here with black bean brownies. I feel like these guys were one of the first healthy desserts people even considered trying. I’ve always wanted to make them and just haven’t. Today of all days (when I have a presentation, multiple essays, and a final next week)  though was the day I chose to make them. Well let me say the procrastination paid off. THESE WERE SO GOOD. You forget there are black beans in there. It actually kind of surprised me when I was eating one and then remembered oh right, I’m eating BEANS right now.

Anyway, I’d like to talk about my process for coming up with this recipe. I was looking around on the internet for ideas and I noticed two sort of camps…the majority of recipes used cocoa powder to make it chocolatey while the other recipes used melted chocolate. I guess this depends if you are more of a cakey or fudgey brownie type. I like more dense fudgey brownies, but Matt likes his more cakey so I thought, why not both?

And just like the family/friends (?) of the little girl of the above gif I celebrated that thought and knew that was what I was going to do. Basically, I pulled from the following two recipes: http://minimalistbaker.com/refined-sugar-free-black-bean-brownies/ and https://nadialim.com/recipe/healthier-chocolate-berry-brownie/ and then added my own spin on them. I told Matt I’m not sure if these are going to be good, but I’ll write down the ingredients anyway, and I’m very glad I did. This will be my new go to brownie recipe. Not black bean brownie recipe, brownie recipe. ALSO note to the wise: I just had a piece with peanut butter, blueberries, raspberries, and granola on top and it was so good. I couldn’t decide on one top so I went with them all and I regret nothing. But if that sounds like too much for you, just dollop some peanut butter on those bad boys and enjoy. Anyway, here’s the recipe for you!

BLACK BEAN BROWNIES

Ingredients:

  • One can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1.5 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons natural peanut butter (if your peanut butter is not salted add a pinch of kosher salt)
  • 40 grams of dark chocolate (70% is good)
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons raw cacao powder
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips of your choice plus more for topping
  • pecans to top with (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F.
  2. Heat the coconut oil, maple syrup, peanut butter, and dark chocolate over low to medium heat in a saucepan until it is all melted and incorporated.
  3. Place black beans in the food processor. Add the ingredients from the sauce pan and the baking powder and blend until smooth.
  4. Add the eggs and blend some more until incorporated.
  5. Hand mix in the chocolate chips.
  6. Spray or wipe down a pan with oil, pour the batter in and top with chocolate chips and nuts.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for about 25 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!

NEW: Printable version of recipe here! Just copy and paste the image into word and the formatting won’t get messed up:

black bean brownie recipe

Save

Leave a Reply

