Chunky Monkey Frozen Yogurt

It’s starting to get warm here in good Ol St. Louie which means there is one thing on my mind…ICE CREAM. However, if I gave into my ice cream cravings every time they crossed my mind, well I would be eating ice cream probably at least 3 times a day. I figured though I could at least try to create something a bit healthier than ice cream that I could feel good about eating. Inspiration struck when I saw three ripe bananas just sitting there, ready to be used. That was it, I would make chunky monkey frozen yogurt.

IMG_5274

In the past, I’ve made banana nice cream/soft serve, whatever you want to call it, and it was delicious and simple. But, this time I wanted to use my ice cream maker and yogurt so I figured I had to go about it a different way. It is actually still really simple and just requires a bit more effort, which I say is well worth it. The little chocolate pieces in there are actually created from a combo of dates and cacao and I’ll say it’s one of my more simple, yet brilliant ideas (#stayhumble, y’all). If you’re too lazy to do that part, just throw in some dark chocolate pieces, but I do recommend doing it because it is a nice and gooey chocolate flavor. In terms of the yogurt, it’s pretty forgiving as to what you use. If you use greek yogurt it’ll be thicker and creamier, and even more so if you use full fat. But you could get away with no fat and be fine, or use regular full fat yogurt for half and no fat greek for half. Idk, you do you. It might just change how long you have to defrost it for and how creamy it is.

I really hope you give this one a try as it really is as delicious as it looks. ALSO I know there have been a lot of sweet recipes, but I’m planning a good savory one for you all coming up soon. Get ready for it.

CHUNKY MONKEY FROZEN YOGURT

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 cups of plain yogurt (greek, full fat)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 9 medjool dates
  • 1 tablespoon of raw cacao
  • drizzle of peanut butter

Instructions:

  1. First you’ll make the chocolate chunks. Pit the dates and put the in the food processor with the cacao powder. Process until it looks like soft fudge. Spread it out so it is about a half an inch tall onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and put it in the freezer. (put a little bit of oil on your hands to make this a lot easier)
  2. Blend the bananas maple syrup and yogurt together in a blender until it is smooth and then place in the fridge to get cold again, about 30 minutes.
  3. Once cold, place in the ice cream maker according to the manufacturer.
  4. While it is churning (it will take about 20-25 minutes), take the date and cacao mixture out of the freezer and chop it into pieces. You can do it as big or as small as you want.
  5. When done, take the ice cream out of the ice cream maker and put it in a bowl. Gently fold in the chunks of chocolate, then drizzle some peanut butter in afterwards.
  6. Place it in a freezer safe container to finish freezing. I left mine in overnight and then defrosted it for a little while before trying it, but I know Matt tried some about 2 hours after it was put in the freezer and it was nice and soft.

Printable: chunky mokey froyo

 

Leave a Reply

