Fish Burritos

IMG_5386

Okay so if you had an immediate “ew” reaction to that title, trust me- I get it. Everyone loves the idea of fish tacos, but no one thinks about making fish burritos. Why though?? I have always been more of a burrito fan over tacos, but I still love fish tacos, especially with a grilled and blackened mild flavored fish. So I thought, why not make a fish burrito and combine the two? I did and it was glorious. Even Matt who was very hesitant about the idea at first, really liked it. I think the thing  that pushed this burrito to the next level though was the salsa I made to go with it. When I looked in my fridge that night trying to figure out how I would make my concoction, I noticed I had about 3/4 of a mango left that I didn’t to go to waste. So I decided to make a salsa with it, and I really think the fresh and bright flavors from that salsa really paired well with the fish. I based it off of a traditional Colombian salsa I always make called aji (which I really need to post on here) and adapted it from there. Anyway, don’t be scared by the idea of a fish burrito and just go for it!

FISH BURRITOS

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 tilapia fillets
  • Spices including: cumin, paprika, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper
  • 1 cup quinoa (I did a mixture of red and white)
  • avocado
  • lime juice
  • Whole wheat tortillas

For Mango Salsa:

  • 3/4 of mango, peeled and diced small
  • 2 green onions, minced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • juice of half a lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • dash of cumin
  • dash of cayenne (or as much as you want to make it spicy)

Instructions:

  1. Prepare all the ingredients for the mango salsa and mix them together. That’s it for the salsa!
  2. Cook your quinoa according to package instructions (add a teaspoon of salt though).
  3. Heat a medium sized pan up (I used a non stick one) over medium high heat. Add the olive oil and let it heat up a little.
  4. After you put the pan on and are waiting for it to heat up, season your fish heavily with the above listed spices. You’ll notice I didn’t list amounts for the spices. Since there’s only two fillets, it really would be almost too small to measure. I’d say start probably with 1/2 a teaspoon for each spice though spread between the two fish and add more if need be. You want it to have a read color because of the spices.
  5. When the pot is hot add the fish on one side and cook until the sides of the fish start to come off the pot. Then flip it and cook for another 2-3 minutes or so (until flaky)
  6. Microwave your tortillas for about 30 seconds or heat up in the oven at 300.
  7. Build your burrito by adding the quinoa, fish, salsa, avocado, and a squeeze of lime juice. Here is a video of how to roll a burrito in case you’re curious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K54zp79GIg

Printable: printable

Save

Leave a Reply

