Chickpea chocolate chip cookies {Vegan and gluten free}

IMG_6147

After I posted the recipe the other day for the black bean brownies, my brain started turning and I started wondering what other sweet treats I could create with beans. I guess I was thinking about it subconsciously because I came up with this recipe as I woke up from a nap. I turned to Matt and said I’m going to make chickpea chocolate chip cookies with a bit of a mad scientist look in my eyes. Since he is used to my crazy ideas, he just said dooo ittt.

So let me tell you a bit about these cookies. They’re softer than regular cookies, but they are delicious. They are sweetened mostly with dates and a touch of maple syrup so they can count as a healthy snack or dessert. If you’re craving a regular unhealthy chocolate chip cookie, this may not be exactly what you should make, but if you’re craving a delicious sweet treat that you won’t feel guilty about, definitely reach for these. They’re soft on the inside and have a bit of crunch on the outside and there are delicious melty chocolate bites throughout that I definitely appreciate. I hope you make these and appreciate them as much as I do!

IMG_6125

Side note: I got that plate at a thrift store for $1 and I love it! Pretty proud of that purchase.

Side note #2: I was supposed to add more water to the chia seeds to make a chia egg, but I miscounted. It still worked though so I’m leaving it how I did it!

CHICKPEA CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds, ground
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1/3 cup of natural peanut butter (just peanuts and salt)
  • 7 pitted medjool dates (soaked if not soft)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 40 grams of dark chocolate, chopped (I used 85% here)

Instructions:

  1. Grind the chia seeds in a coffee grinder or something similar and combine with the water. Set aside.
  2. Place the drained and rinsed chickpeas in the food processor with the dates and process until you get a sticky mush.
  3. Add the peanut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup, baking powder, and vanilla and process until it forms into a dough like consistency. Add in the chia seeds and process some more until mixed in.
  4. Remove the dough from the food processor and place in a bowl. Fold in the oats and the chocolate.
  5. Place in the fridge for 30 minutes. When ready preheat the oven to 350 F. Form the dough into little balls and flatten the tops. Place on a lined cookie sheet and bake for 18-20 minutes until the outside is golden and hard. Enjoy!

Printable:

recipe

Save

Leave a Reply

