Health-ier Turtle Cookies

IMG_6529

Hi everyone! Sorry I’ve been gone for so long. Matt and I moved to a new house and I started a new job, so life has been busy to say the least! Anyway, let me tell you a story about my favorite topic- food, of course…

Chapter 1:

The other day I went to Target because I had a Target giftcard and I was wandering around trying to figure out what I wanted to get and so of course, I went over to the food section to see what I could get myself. I  found coconut sugar! I’d seen it pop up across different food blogs I follow, but never really went out looking for it. So when I saw it at Target I figured it was my chance to give it a try. I brought it home but was unsure of what I would make with it, but excited for the possibilities.

Chapter 2:

Sitting at work, on a particularly slow day, my mind naturally fell to food. I was thinking about what I could do with the coconut sugar I had just bought the other day. My instincts told me it had more of a deeper, caramel-y, rich sort of flavor and so my mind went to the foods that would pair well with it. First up on the roster: pecans and chocolate. But how would I combine them all together? A cookie, of course! Then a caramel drizzle to tie them all together. I could hardly wait to get home to make them. I did, and they were almost perfect! But I knew they weren’t quite ready to share so I made them yesterday again and measured out all the ingredients based on my notes from last time.

Chapter 3:

You take over the story now and make your batch of cookies. Trust me, you’ll want to keep this story going.

IMG_6416IMG_6542

HEALTHIER TURTLE COOKIES

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup butter*
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 50 grams oat flour (about a half a cup)
  • 136 grams whole wheat flour (about a heaping 3/4)
  • 1/3 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1.2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 4 oz (1 whole bar) dark chocolate (at least 70%), chopped

Instructions:

  1. First step is to brown the butter. For this place the butter in a saucepan over low heat and melt it. Continue cooking until it starts to turn golden and smells nutty. It will pop, that’s okay. Once done, put in a bowl to cool and set aside.
  2. Cream the sugar, egg, and vanilla extract together in a large bowl. Once the butter is cool, add it in and mix.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients together (minus the pecans and chocolate) and then slowly add it in to the wet. Stir until combined.
  4. Fold in the pecans and chocolate.
  5. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. While they are in the fridge, make the caramel sauce.
  6. Preheat oven to 350 F. Place the cookies on a lined baking sheet in about two tablespoon balls, flattened a bit at the top. Bake for about 10-12 minutes.
  7. Enjoy with a nice cold glass of milk!

*Feel free to replace with coconut oil. In which case, don’t melt it, just use it softened and cream with the sugar and then add the egg in.

 

Leave a Reply

